DYPF 2022 Performance and Recognition Night
Friday, April 1, 2022
7:30 p.m.

This event is free and open to the public. Seating is general admission. 

After receiving 49 new plays from 56 playwrights representing ten schools throughout the state, Delaware Theatre Company is pleased to announce the five winning plays and playwrights for the 2021-2022 Delaware Young Playwrights Festival!

Congratulations to our 2021-2022 DYPF Winners!

Car Treble by Jordan Brady of Aquinas Academy
Double Time by Danielle Chapman of St. Elizabeth High School

Let Me Care by Adrianna Fannin of Charter School of Wilmington

Madam President by Mallory Murphy of St. Mark’s High School
Failure Tastes Sweet by Dustin Taylor of Middletown High School

These five playwrights took part in a series of weekend workshops with DTC theatre artists to help them refine their work in anticipation for a live performance. The finalists' work was produced – adding professional set, costume, lighting, sound, and props design – and presented on the DTC stage on Friday, April 1, 2022. The presentation was followed by a ceremony announcing additional honors, awards, and acknowledgements for all playwrights who participated in DYPF this year.  


Left to Right: Dustin Taylor, Adriana Fannin, Mallory Murphy, Jordan Brady, and Danielle Chapman 

In addition to the finalists listed above, the following plays are deemed worthy of an honorable mention, and these playwrights are congratulated for their fine work.  

DYPF Honorable Mention Plays 2021-2022

The Final Cycle by Bailey Blewitt of Sussex Central High School

The Night Train by Megan Chapman of St. Elizabeth High School
Get Ghouled by Charlotte deLeeuw of Charter School of Wilmington

A Change for the Better by Alexis Hilton of MOT Charter High School
The Time Machine by Jasmine Garcia & Sayuri Karnik of MOT Charter High School

The mission of Delaware Theatre Company's DYPF is to provide students with an authentic audience for their creative writing and teachers with an innovative literacy program. Guided by passion and  professionalism, DYPF uses educational resources, interactive workshops, personal feedback to every playwright, and public performances to engage students in the art of theatre through the act of writing a play. Both competitive and cooperative, DYPF fosters, respects, and celebrates the voices of young writers. 

finalist workshop
stage 19 20
winners cake 19 20
billie rose speaks to group
workshop watching scene
winners stage 19 20

I would certainly recommend this program to other students or aspiring playwrights. These five workshops [were] extraordinarily helpful in improving my writing skills. Delaware Theatre Company offers a rare, invaluable opportunity to nourish one's creativity. The level of interest and commitment that DTC incorporates into this program is truly admirable and inspiring.


–Athira, student playwright

DYPF is made possible, in part, by a grant from the Delaware Division of the Arts, a state agency in partnership with the National Endowment for the Arts.  The Division promotes Delaware arts events on www.DelawareScene.com.  

DYPF is funded in part by a grant from Delaware Humanities, a state program of the National Endowment for the Humanities.