Delaware Young Playwrights Festival

Teachers in Delaware high schools - join us for our DYPF 2014-2015 KICKOFF WORKSHOP!

Location: Delaware Theatre Company

Date: Saturday, September 27, 2014

Time: 9:30am-12:30pm


The theme for this season's Young Playwrights Festival is, "If I ever hope to learn anything about myself and the things around me, I've got to stand completely on my own." This quotation comes from Ingmar Bergman's play Nora, an adaptation of Ibsen's A Doll's House that will be presented on DTC's main stage in February. Students will be challenged to write a play in which a character strives for newfound independence in thought and action in an important circumstance or situation.

Students and teachers alike can learn the basics of playwriting and prepare for this year's festival at our kickoff workshop! Call or email Allie Steele, Asst. Director of Education & Community Engagement, for further details or to register your students: (302)-594-1104, ext. 249 or





Delaware Theatre Company recognized the following plays and playwrights as finalists in the 2013-2014 Delaware Young Playwrights Festival:

The Diner by Saryu Chennat, Cab Calloway School of the Arts

Breaking Glass by Nikolas Hunter, St. Elizabeth High School

The Intruder in Apartment 4B by Lily Kairis, Charter School of Wilminton

The Coffee Stag by Veronika Lynch and Darian Sorouri, Cab Calloway School of the Arts

Getting to Know Your Conscience by Rebecca Oberschmidt, Charter School of Wilmington

To Break the Ice by Sam Stewart, William Penn High School

Last year’s DYPF theme, “It Might Seem Small to You, But You Change the World with Everything You Do," was taken from this season's Delaware Theatre Company production of Neil Bartram and Brian Hill’s The Story of My Life.  High school students participating in DYPF were asked to write a play in which a characters change lives or have their own lives changed with just one small action or event.  The six finalist plays were selected to receive additional guidance for development through a series of workshops led by professional theatre artists at Delaware Theatre Company.  The playwrights of these plays continued to refine their work in preparation for the culminating performance at DTC on Tuesday evening, March 11, 2014, during which all of the plays submitted were honored. Each year, one play is selected as the winner of the Delaware Young Playwrights Festival, and the winner for the 2013-2014 season was The Diner by Saryu Chennat


On May 15, 2014, Senator Nicole Poore and the Delaware State Senate presented a tribute to the students who were selected as finalists in the 2013-2014 Delaware Young Playwrights Festival. Senator Poore's tribute took place in the Senate Legislative Hall in Dover, DE.

Delaware Theatre Company and the Department of Education are very proud of all seven playwrights, and we congratulate them on their hard work throughout this process!


DYPF is generously supported by

Delaware Division of the Arts
Delaware Humanities Forum
Wilmington University